Checkmate

Last night I dreamt you were an ant.

I always liked the idea of a magnifying glass

over an ant in August.

I was reading the scientific american

-Of which I am neither-

of how Broca’s Area lets you talk

and Wernicke’s lets you comprehend.

So I was swirling my finger in my coffee

(I know how you hate that)

And I was thinking

Its a funny thing how without Broca’s Area

I would never have to say I love you too.

I always say it like an actress on the sixteenth

take cuz the kid won’t cry on cue

and I would never have to again.

For God’s sake I dont always need the last word!

I love you- I love you too! Ha! Gotcha.

Somethin to prove.

Love you too! Checkmate.

Why can’t we let the chicken marinate?

Its shake and bake every other time

Just once I want to see your words become smoke

suspended in fog

 

And since I’m choosing

losing my wernicke’s area isnt a bad deal.

I would never even know you loved me

You could say it again and again like the car ride back

from the picture show in the rain when I found out

you could say it and I wouldn’t understand.

 

You could say it and I wouldn’t understand.

 

 

Leave a Reply

